top of page

An introduction to The Ribble Collective.


You may have heard The Ribble Collective concept circulating on social media over the past few days but what actually is it?


The Ribble Collective is a brand new concept and as suggested by the name Collective this is a collection of riders rather than your standard traditional race team. In essence this means each member is a privateer with the flexibility to select their own races or events to craft their own calendar. Being given this freedom is incredibly exciting and I can’t wait to get this season started, racing road, gravel and mountain biking events over the next couple of months in what may be the most varied calendar is pretty cool to think.




What brings each privateer together is the bikes we ride, you may have already seen glimpses of them shared around as they really are a sight to behold. Each member of the Collective will be riding the same limited edition RC colourway bikes across each discipline, featuring an eye catching and unique paint flicker metallic teal fork and bars really helps the bikes stand out from the peloton. Attention to detail is apparent, each bike features the name of the rider across the top tube to make it unique and the subtle metallic teal to black odyssey fade across the entire bike really makes it sparkle in the sunlight. Teal Ribble decals pop and help tie the bike altogether and what makes things event better is that the custom colour scheme is available to the public.


The teal palette transitions from the bike and onto the kit made by HUUB. A well renowned, premium sports apparel brand, HUUB provides the perfect balance between delivering speed and comfort across its range of products. From initial testing the kit and bikes are beautiful pieces of artwork, they provide excellent balance between style and practicality and I can’t wait to put them to the test over the next year.


How clean does that cockpit look?

So how did this all come together? If you had asked me 4 months ago I would be riding for the Ribble Collective I would have been very confused, much because it’s the first of its kind and 4 months ago didn't even exist. Unlike a few misconceptions that we are a bunch of influencers I can assure you that really is not the case and in fact we are also bike racers. Although I have to admit things came together through connections on social media, I have big plans for the season to make my last year as an under 23 really count.


As well as having the freedom to pick and choose my events, having pitched my ideas to Neil, the head of marketing at Ribble, I also have the freedom when it comes to sponsors. With many teams you are tied down to certain team sponsors, however this is where things differ again in the Collective. Although there are a number of brands who are supporting the Collective these are partners and not sponsors offering each individual a degree of flexibility.


A great example is the team has a wheel partner in the terms of Mavic, however I had already agreed a deal with EFS before the idea of the Collective was pitched to me. I have trusted EFS wheels now for the past few years, from cyclocross to road races and taking on the South Downs Way they have stood up to all the tests I have given them and I couldn’t be more proud to be partnering with them again for 2023. Furthermore I’ve even got an exclusive discount code to get yourself 10% off your own pair by adding TOMC10 to checkout.


Although I will be using EFS wheels primarily on my bikes, for shoes and helmets I will be using Mavic products. Be sure to keep your eyes peeled for more on this soon as we are working on something pretty unique to help me stand out from the crowd even more on the gravel scene…


OTE is another great example of one of the teams partners who I have been lucky enough to hook up with for the season. Having previously used their range in past seasons I have developed a fond liking for their duo bars, if you haven’t tried them already just imagine a bowl of cocoa or rice pops you ate as a kid just in the form of an energy bar that tastes a thousand times better. Plus they pack in 40 grams of carbohydrates so are a perfect ride snack to take with you. I’m even lucky enough to have a discount code to get you 20% off of your order by putting OTE-TC20 at checkout.



2023 will see me working with Brownbag protein again, an ethical and sustainable supplement company from Yorkshire it is a brand who I have been lucky enough to have had the support of over the past two years. With sustainability being at the core of their core company, I feel really proud to be able to represent this brand who believe in so many values I can really get behind. From sourcing ingredients locally to using recyclable packing and removing any single waste such as plastic protein scoops from their products they have a great range of flavours and options to choose from. My current favourite is the salted caramel whey protein, especially when mixed with oat milk or made into protein balls to provide the perfect, sweet reward after a tough session. Plus get yourself 10% off their entire website with the code TOMC10 at checkout.



My final 2023 partner is Spatz, there is no denying that the weather hasn't been the greatest the past winter, however with the help of Spatz and their range of products I have managed to carry on training in comfort.


After a successful secret long weekend in Spain at the start of February to meet the riders and gather content for the launch of the Collective I now have a quieter few weeks, building up the base miles and fine tuning the upper end of the form.


The first race in the calendar is Battle on the Beach at the end of the month, a race that has always appealed to me just by the fact the idea of racing across sand dunes is so bonkers. I am still finalising my calendar which is to be published soon but if there are any recommendations of events to take a look at then be sure to let me know.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page